You can find Backup & Restore under Database Management by clicking the hamburger icon on the upper-left of the page.
How is Data Backed Up?
Ragic servers are backed up automatically on a daily basis. Therefore, you usually wouldn't have to go through a manual backup process, although it is still recommended to save a snapshot or save a manual backup before making major design changes, such as linking your existing data in Ragic so that you can restore the backup you saved if needed.
If you're using a Professional or higher plan, through your Backup & Restore panel, you will be able to download daily, weekly, or bi-weekly backup and view when the backups were last saved on the Ragic servers if needed.
Creating and Restoring a Snapshot
You can save the current version of your database by creating a snapshot that you can restore at a later time if needed. This feature is available for Professional or higher plans.
To save a snapshot of your current database, click the "Create Snapshot" at the bottom of the "Auto Backup" section. Ragic will save a backup of your account, this may take some time if you have a very large amount of data. Your snapshot will be saved under the "Auto Backup" section.
If you need to restore a backup that was saved as a snapshot, you can download and manually restore it when needed.
The restoration process will overwrite your entire database with the restored backup, so please make sure that you are restoring the correct backup file.
Manually Save a Backup
Usually, you wouldn't have to go through a manual backup process, but it's still recommended to save a manual backup before making major design changes so that you can restore the backup you saved if needed.
If the databases that you are backing up and restoring data are located on different servers, please select to back up as the Compressed backup format. You can determine the servers of your database from its URL with the first three letters after "https://", such as www, ap2, ap3, eu2, na2...
To save a backup manually, navigate to Backup & Restore > Backups.
Backup the Entire Database
Make sure that none of the checkboxes are checked to save an entire backup of your database with the current state. Click the "Backup" button. This will save a backup on your computer with the file extension .ragicdb. This is a special file format that only Ragic can read.
Backup the Design of Your Database
If you only want to download the backup of the design of your database without data, you can check the "Backup database definition only" box before saving this backup. This will save a backup on your computer with the file extension .ragic, a special file format that only Ragic can read. If you restore this backup on another account, only your design will be restored, and your data won't be affected. This method is usually used to share designs between different accounts. For instance, if you have multiple database accounts, you can modify the design of your test environment and make sure everything works well before restoring it to your production environment.
Restoring a Manually Saved Backup
The restoration process will overwrite your entire database with the restored backup. Make sure that you want to restore to your saved backup, and that the version you are restoring is the correct backup. Also note that when you restore a the backup file of an entire database, the list of users set up in the database would be completely overwritten as well. Please log into the destination database with user credentials from the source database afterwards.
Downloading the Backup Data of a Single Sheet
You can click the Download as Excel File or Text and choose From Backup that can be accessed on the listing page of a form from Tools to export multiple entries.
You can download automatic backups or Download From History. When using Download From History, you can select to download values from independent fields or a subtable, until a certain time, or the oldest version.
Delete Unlinked Files
When deleting the files in the file upload and image upload fields, these files will not be removed entirely from your database instantly but will be considered "unlinked files". Under certain circumstances, users can still restore unlinked files when restoring entries or using other methods. Unlinked files will be kept in the database for at least a month. If you would like to delete these files entirely from your database, please click this button.
As the duration of usage continues to extend, the volume of data will also continue to grow. When there are a lots of records in the sheet, it may potentially affect the system speed, functions including records display, filtering, and generating reports . In such cases, you may consider Automatic Archiving.
You can see the current archiving settings here.
After clicking on Archive Settings, you can configure the day of the month and the timeframe for archiving the desired sheet. Once the setting is complete, remember to Save.
At the bottom section, you can filter the sheets with archived data. If necessary, you can restore archived data or permanently delete it.