You can find Backup & Restore under Database Management by clicking the hamburger icon on the upper-left of the page.
How is Data Backed Up?
Ragic servers are backed up automatically on a daily basis. Therefore, you usually wouldn't have to go through a manual backup process, although it is still recommended to save a snapshot or save a manual backup before making major design changes, such as linking your existing data in Ragic so that you can restore the backup you saved if needed.
If you're using a Professional or higher plan, through your Backup & Restore panel, you will be able to download daily, weekly, or bi-weekly backup and view when the backups were last saved on the Ragic servers if needed.
Creating and Restoring a Snapshot
You can save the current version of your database by creating a snapshot that you can restore at a later time if needed. This feature is available for Professional or higher plans.
To save a snapshot of your current database, click the "Create Snapshot" at the bottom of the "Auto Backup" section. Ragic will save a backup of your account, this may take some time if you have a very large amount of data. Your snapshot will be saved under the "Auto Backup" section.
If you need to restore a backup that was saved as a snapshot, you can download and manually restore it when needed.
The restoration process will overwrite your entire database with the restored backup, so please make sure that you are restoring the correct backup file.
Manually Save a Backup
Usually, you wouldn't have to go through a manual backup process, but it's still recommended to save a manual backup before making major design changes so that you can restore the backup you saved if needed.
If the databases that you are backing up and restoring data are located on different servers, please select to back up as the Compressed backup format. You can determine the servers of your database from its URL with the first three letters after "https://", such as www, ap2, ap3, eu2, na2...
To save a backup manually, navigate to Backup & Restore > Backups.
Backup the entire database
Make sure that none of the checkboxes are checked to save an entire backup of your database with the current state. Click the "Backup" button. This will save a backup on your computer with the file extension .ragicdb. This is a special file format that only Ragic can read.
Backup the design of your database
If you only want to download the backup of the design of your database without data, you can check the "Backup database definition only" box before saving this backup. This will save a backup on your computer with the file extension .ragic, a special file format that only Ragic can read. If you restore this backup on another account, only your design will be restored, and your data won't be affected. This method is usually used to share designs between different accounts. For instance, if you have multiple database accounts, you can modify the design of your test environment and make sure everything works well before restoring it to your production environment.
Restoring a Manually Saved Backup
The restoration process will overwrite your entire database with the restored backup. Make sure that you want to restore to your saved backup, and that the version you are restoring is the correct backup.
Download your Data as Excel or Text Files
You can use the Download as Excel File or Text feature that can be accessed on the listing page of a form from Tools to export multiple entries.